Current News

Antyx Hi-Jinx: Click below for editions of our newsletter

November 2015; July 2016

To subscribe, please e-mail admin@antyx.org with "SUBSCRIBE" in the title. 

Introducing Meredith Hundert!

Hello! My name is Meredith Hundert. I am 19 years old and I am currently a second year Social Work student at Mount Royal University. I have been working and volunteering with children for the last 6 years of my life, and have worked with youth specifically over the past couple of years. After dipping my toes into working with youth I am ready to dive head on into the amazing youth programs that Antyx has to offer. I love to keep myself busy and typically find myself outdoors hiking, inside experimenting with new songs on my guitar in my free time. If you see me around feel free to come introduce yourself and say hi, I am very excited to get to know everyone who is a part of Antyx! 

If you could live anywhere, where would it be?

If I could live anywhere in the whole world I would probably chose to live on a huge chunk of land in the south of France. A few years ago my family and I stayed in the South of France for a week and the freshness of this region was rejuvenating. Ever since I have always wanted to own a piece of land and live a simple and easy life out there. 

What is your favourite family vacation?

My all-time favourite family vacation was when I went travelling to Africa for two months with my parents and my two younger sisters. This was less of a vacation and more of a volunteer trip, but either way this was one of the highlights of my life. In Africa, my sisters and I worked with an Orphanage and helped develop programs such as a cooking class, a music club, a library, and a hygiene class in order to prepare youth who were transitioning out of the orphanage with the hope of giving them life skills. 

What is your favourite game or sport to watch and play?

My favourite sport to play is field hockey. I played on my High School's field hockey team all through school and really enjoyed the sport as well as the team dynamic! My favourite sport to watch is hockey. I feel as though Hockey provides excitement and it is easy for even me (who isn't into very many sports) to get into the game. 

What are your hobbies?

My main hobbies include playing guitar, hiking and running, riding my horse, and doing embroidery. These are all things I try to do in whatever free time my busy schedule provides!

What do you look forward to most while working with Antyx Community Arts?

 I am very excited to become more involved in the artistic and fun side of Social Work. I am looking forward to being pushed out of my comfort zone and immersing myself in the programs. I am more than ready to not only apply skills I have learnt from my past experience into my work with Antyx, but also to learn many new skills related to working with teens and youth. Most of all I am excited to create lasting and meaningful connections with everyone at  Antyx and I can't wait to get to know all of you!

unnamed.jpg